No WLAN adapter found

Hi, I’m new in Zorin. Installed OS 15.3 on Galaxy-Book. Got the message: No WLN adapter found. Network controller Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac.
Please give hints how proceed. Carolus47

1 Like

Could you please open a terminal (ctrl+alt+t)and paste in each of the following one at a time:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall git dkms build-essential linux-headers-generic

git clone GitHub - tomaspinho/rtl8821ce

cd rtl8821ce

chmod +x dkms-install.sh

chmod +x dkms-remove.sh

sudo ./dkms-install.sh

1 Like

Hi, when I enter: git clone… etc, I get the reply: Username for https://github.com.

What do I have to enter? Carolus47

Ah... I am not sure on this. I would not have thought that using git would require the user to have a github account. But... who knows, since github was bought by Microsoft...
You can directly click the link in the instructions above and navigate to it in your browser. Select the code button, download zip.
extract it and move it to your home directory (Or you can leave it in Downloads and terminal 'cd' into it there) and then continue following the list above.
If you leave it in your downloads directory, you will need to Change Directory to that, instead

cd rtl8821ce

becomes

cd ~/Downloads/rtl8821ce

Thanks for the hint. Github for a newcomer is confusing. I opened github but no idea how to select the code button and download which zip.

I know what you mean, I am pretty new to Linux, myself.
I am fortunate that I enjoy learning things.
Here is the link again, so you do not need to keep scrolling up:

On the page, look here>

Click the green Code Button. You will see

Download Zip

Click that to download.

If it seems obvious in hindsight, don't sweat it. When I first used it, I didn't see it - if it was a snake, it would have bitten me.

Once you download it, it will land in your Downloads folder. Just open that folder and you will see it, there.