Nvida -> AMD

I swapped out my 4GB Nvidia 1050ti with a 8GB RX580, and now Zorin won't start.

I've never used AMD before so I don't know how tell my system I switched.

the graphics card u used is probably not supported by your pc's motherboard

AMD Drivers are built into the Linux Kernel, the RX580x is the card that I use myself so it does work with Zorin. And will work even if you loaded nvidia drivers.

1.) Does the Bios Splash Display?
2.) Is the cord in tightly, and do you have a directional cord? (some hdmi cords are directional) try, swapping ends around.
3.) Are you using the correct graphics port
(a common mistake is to use the hdmi/dp port on the mother board and not he card)
4.) Reseat the rx580, make sure the pcie power plug is tight.
A loose pcie power might cause the card to fail when loading the desktop or nor power on at all, as the pcix slot provides enough power to power basic functions of the card, but once the vrms pull power for rendering / graphics it would shut down.

1 Like

You may want to check that the card is properly seated as well, in addition to ensuring you have it in the correct slot.

Is the computer completely unresponsive on boot or do you not see the output from the computer. This can be that the video is not displaying but the computer is still booting. Did you hear a longer than normal or multiple beeps at boot? This normally happens when a gpu isn't found or accessed.

Improperly seated card, wrong slot, bad card, bad cord are all possible reasons it isn't working. Try booting the live image. If that shows zorin, you may have to enter the recovery console and disable or blacklist the nvidia driver (may have a conflict).

While you were putting in the card, were you grounded? Did you create static electricity that arced on the card? Did you press the card firmly into the proper slot? Is the cord connecting to the monitor firmly connected?

A little more information may be necessary.