Partitions - again (dual boot, /home on separate hard disk)

Hi there,

I was totally overwhelmed by the installer again. I don't install any Linux on a regular basis and partitioning depends on BIOS/UEFI, installed hard disks and much more...

So the installer described the partitions in a strange way, I had to open Gparted beside it to understand which operating system can access which partition on which drive. And where the heck my /home is - that shouldn't be overwritten, of course.

Now I found /dev/sdb (250GB SSD) to be my "old" Zorin drive.
sdb1 is now /boot with 500 MB.
sdb2 is now efi with 200 MB.
sdb3 is now / (root) with about 180 GB.
What I don't know for sure, because the Zorin help isn't any help in this case and different sources say different things: Is that space for /boot and efi enough?

I understand that Zorin is meant for absolute beginners, that I am not anymore. But my mainboard is the first UEFI one and everything changed with it, together with SSD hard disks that shouldn't hibernate any more (what would mean writing the whole RAM to them every time hibernation is executed), so there's also no swap any more...

I would be very fond of a professional giving some updated hints on which partitions a new Zorin install has to have (and maybe which additional ones would make sense) on a UEFI system and which sizes they should have.

Regards

Glim

the information you provided you is a bit scattered and hard to understand.

your boot files, EFI partition, and the root partition should be on the same hard drive. the EFI partition and the root partition are typically separate partitions on that drive. you have the option to have different partitions for /home and /boot, or you can choose to have them in the same partition.

for /boot 500MB is enough
for /efi 250MB