PC freezes during guided installation

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the Linux world. I was searching a light distro for my HP Compaq 6720 (Intel Cerelon single core and 1GB of RAM) and Zorin was a great solution! I downloaded the ISO (Firefox, one of the latest version) and flashed it on the USB (8GB, with Balena Etcher).

When I was using Zorin on the USB, everything was fine, until I went to settings to find addition drivers: it froze. I had to force shut down the PC and then boot it up again. After that, I started the guided installation, but (again) it froze when I clicked next on the “Updates and other software” page. Tried again, but same problem.

Any solution?

Can it be that I’m using a 4G router? About that, I noticed something weird. Normally, even when I use 30mbps in download and 20 in upload, the Wi-Fi is still usable, but during the download of Zorin’s ISO everything was weird: the PC was downloading without problems, but other devices didn’t work: I tried running a Speedtest but 90% of the time it didn’t even start! Maybe the ISO got corrupted… It would be great to download it via torrent!

I’ll appreciate any help!

(sorry for my bad English)

1 Like

Hi @matt, welcome to the forum!

It appears that there may have been an issue with your installation medium. I would recommend you to check if the installation medium may have defects by following the steps on this guide: https://zorinos.com/help/install-zorin-os/#boot-from-the-install-drive

If defects are found, I would recommend you to try burning the downloaded Zorin OS .iso file to a different USB drive, as the first drive you used may have experienced wear & tear from prior use or had other physical defects.