Problem with display resolution

Hi everyone, I can't choose the correct resolution for the external monitor that is connected to my laptop, the highest resolution I can choose in the settings is 1920x1080, my monitor is 3440x1440 (21:9 aspect ratio), does Zorin support this resolution?

(I'm completely new to linux)

Hi, please post the output of these commands;

sudo apt install inxi
inxi -G
1 Like

Hello, here's the output of the second command:

nikusya@nikusya-ThinkPad-X260:~$ inxi -G
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel Skylake GT2 [HD Graphics 520] driver: i915 v: kernel
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: i915 tty: N/A
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 520 (SKL GT2) v: 4.6 Mesa 21.2.6

These Graphics drivers are included in the kernel...
Some folks resolve this by switching to a DVI - USBC cable.

Have you tried setting your custom resolution with xrandr?

I do agree that 4k on Linux needs more development. But we can try... I went ahead and searched for a Full Guide:

1 Like

alright I've made it work through a ThinkPad usb-c usb-a dock, just had to install a DisplayLink driver that i was able to find easily. wasn't able to add a custom resolution using cvt and xrandr

Are you using Nvidia Graphics?

i'm on a laptop using integrated intel graphics (Intel Skylake GT2)

I am sorry, I get in a hurry - I did not word that very well.
Some users have an Integrated card (Intel) in combination with Dedicated (AMD or Nvidia) card.
I am confident by your repetition that if you had a dedicated card, you would have said so.

Have you tried running in terminal:

xrandr --newmode "3440x1440_60.00"  712.75  3440 4160 4576 5312  2160 2163 2168 2237 -hsync +vsync

If you run the above command, if it fails, please read through the output and look for modeset(0): HDMI max frequency
Or similar and relay what it says here...