Question to change colors with CSS

Hi,

I am new to Linux and Zorin and I want to change the background color of the task bar and start menu.

So, is there a possibility via a User-CSS (like it is with Firefox)? Maybe you also know a good tutorial for beginners?

I use Zorin OS 16.1 Core with GNOME.

Thanks a lot for your hints!

Yes, the gnome-shell.css file for the theme you are using determines the Taskbar color.

For the App Menu, I would need to ask you to be a bit more specific on what color you are referring to. The background behind the button is one class that can be set. The highlight button can be set. And... the icon color can also be set (not in the .css, it must be done in a different way.)

I mostly theme Mate, XFCE, Cinnamon and other desktop environments... So I do not recall the specific classes you need to set your parameters in for Gnome. I do not theme Gnome. But if needed, I can probably look them up. OR user @Storm has some experience in theming the gnome-shell, too.

2 Likes

Thank you for your information, Aravisian :grinning:
I could find it and with this Tutorial I managed to change the task bar color :+1:

Regarding the App Menu. I want to set the background behind the button as well the highlight button.
Hm, maybe also the icon color, it depends if it fits with the "new" color.

Thanks again!

1 Like

You might try:

#panel .panel-button {
    background-color: rgba(0,0,0,0.0)
}
#panel .panel-button:hover, #panel .panel-button:active {
    background-color: rgba(0,0,0,0.0)
}

Replace the rgba color with one of your choice or a hex of your choice.

Changing the Icon color would mean changing the Image Color in the .svg file.

1 Like

Great, it worked. Thanks Aravisian :grinning:

Just a few more questions:
Is it possible to set the panel background color transparency?

For example I use this code:

#panel {
    background-color: red;
}

Is it also possible to change the color of the start menu (see attached screenshot)?