Questions about Dual Booting

Hi! My friend was trying to find some linux distros for his old computer and he found zorin os, i didnt know what zorin os was and i have been looking for a linux distro to dual boot with my windows 10 install. I looked into dual booting zorin os with windows 10 and some people have been saying that its wiping their data after a update, breaking the windows install or just not working. So i have been wondering if any of that is true because i wanna try to dual boot linux and windows as a fun little project because i am a beginner to this kind of stuff. Thank you in advanced!

1 Like

No. Zorin OS does not have any access to the Windows Partition and cannot and has not ever wiped Windows Data after any update.
That is not how drive access works.

3 Likes

Are you sure? i have some important data on my windows partition and i dont have anything i could back it up with

1 Like

Yes, I am quite sure.
Think of your Windows Partition and your Linux Partition as being two separate planets or worlds.
If I build a dam on a river on my planet, this has no effect on yours. I cannot build one on yours, only on mine.

User Error can cause issues during installation. For example, if the user selects the wrong partition when installing their Linux Distro. But that is user error and that has nothing to do with Updates.
I have never, not once, ever seen a Linux Distro update wipe Windows data. They are too separated.

If you have important data, you must find a means of backing that data up. Data without backups is like a gas can smoking a cigarette. It won't end well.
There are many free Cloud Services that offer in the range of 5 to 15gigs of space without charging you.
And you can stack them if you are wily, such as using the Free Sync, free Mega and free Proton to accommodate all your data divided among the clouds.
USB sticks are relatively inexpensive. And even a low cost SanDisk should hold 32 to 64 gigs.

4 Likes