Questions about text in Zorin

I'm just trying to use text just like in windows.

When I double click it says

Do you want to run xx.txt , or display it's contents ?
text is an executable text file

Run in Terminal / Display / Cancel / Run

I have 4 Options and when I click display I get to run the text file and read or write.

How do I just make it display right away ?

I went to properties -> permissions -> Execute: Allow executing file as program.

I unchecked it , but it automatically gets CHECKED back again.

So I can't uncheck it.

I'm new to linux so if I could, I would prefer to not use commands if possible.

Also these text files opens in the same "Text Window". As if it's a
"Web Browser" tabs. Like in firefox tabs.
I do see an option for "New window". However it's still like opening an additional
browser window.

How do I make it open text files as if it's windows. Like double click, text files opens in new window every time. No tabs.

Right click -> Open With...

Make sure you tick the option below that says "Always use for this file type", and then choose the file from the list that you want to use.

I don't know if there's an option to always open new documents in separate windows, but you can try to drag and drop the tab outside of the window and it will open a new one for you.

1 Like

I found if you right click the txt file & goto properties> under Permissions, uncheck ( allow executing file as program. txt files open normally.
Hope this may help.
P.s. i see this doesn't work on external drives,( hence it will as you said just re-check it), the txt file must made/created within the os. if you copy a txt file from an external source. you will have to do this procedure "Once" again. Then it will continue to open.

Answer #1 nautilus - Ubuntu claims "executable text file" (e.g. .txt,.csv,.sh but not .xls) despite absence of `x` permission - Ask Ubuntu

Handles local and external drives.