Random Freezing on Zorin OS 15.3

Hello. I am new to Zorin OS (and linux). I'm a teacher who has just set up laptops throughout my classroom and hoping to see an issue resolved. Some of my laptops (Mostly Toshiba Tecra but some Dell Latitude) will freeze randomly. Sometimes while the screen is on, in the middle of working, but more often when the screen has gone black after some inactivity. Usually once this happens, the fans start going extra time. None of the standard key commands work when this happens (even pressing num-lock or caps-lock doesn't change the light). The mouse usually doesn't work, but when it does, nothing is clickable. I am unable to use key commands to access terminal or lock screen. Only holding down the power button works. On the "About" page, I'm on Zorin OS 15.3, Intel Core i5-2520M, Graphics AMD Caicos, OS 64-bit. As I am new, please keep things simple for me. I have read as many other threads as I could, but nothing seems to be exactly my case. Thank you very much in advance. This addition of technology is amazing for my students, but frustrating when it freezes during a lesson.

Hello and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

If you have enough RAM, you might hit a better luck with a newly released Zorin 16.

Hello. Thank you for your reply. How much safely be enough? Most of my systems have 4GB ram. They are also quite old units (not sure exactly but were converted from windows 7). Lite seemed to be what was recommended for older models. Is there an education lite 16 available?

Coming Soon (TM)

We all are waiting impatiently for the release of Zorin16 Lite.
I myself need it for my 10 years old Acer Aspire.

For 4GB RAM, I think it is better you stick to the Lite version. Gnome desktop would be too heavy.

Great! I will anxiously await its release :slight_smile: Thanks for the info

In the meantime, are you aware of any settings, downloads, upgrades, or anything that may help stop these freezes?

Good question.