Slow Wifi Speed - Zorin OS Lite 16.3

Hello, I am new to Zorin OS, i just installed it a few days ago and one thing I have noticed is that my wifi speed is very slow compared to Windows.

Speed Test:

In WIndows, my download speed would normally be around 30-40mbps.
I have updated my software and kernel to the lastest.

Can someone please help.

What machine make / model are you using?

And - please post the output of sudo lshw -C network from terminal.

Looks like Ookla from the screenshot - have you tried other sources like fast.com or speedtest-cli (need to install first) in terminal?

Also, are you using 2.4Ghz wireless?

The PC I am using is a: Lenovo ThinkCentre M91p

This is the output of sudo lshw -C network

Also, I am getting similar results of speed in fast.com and speedtest-cli.

So, since it's USB - give this a shot..

In terminal, sudo apt install libusb-dev, reboot, and then give it another speed test. That package helps with USB's that aren't playing well. Not a cure-all but, might help. I've had to use that package to get other USB's working on my side many times; usually cheaper devices.. But, give that a try :+1:

And also since it's USB, what does lsusb output; and is that the right version for the adapter, r8188eu?

The command didn't seem to help that much

output of lsusb

In terminal, please run

nmcli dev wifi list

And check if your Rate for your network is listed for 130mb/s.

My network rate is listed for 195 mbits/s

Gotcha - and yes lsusb did have more info, appreciated; going off of your HW ID (0bda:8179), you may need to try this driver: GitHub - lwfinger/rtl8188eu: Repository for stand-alone RTL8188EU driver.

But, from other searches - looks like Ubuntu 12 was being used, like fully supported.. If libusb-dev didn't provide anything useful, you may need to try the linked driver, or another one. Which, seemed to be pretty vast - the one I linked (maybe..) was the newest but, also stopped support in 2019 looks like.