Some programs can't see external drives

Hello,
I'm new to Linux and I would need some help in the following:

My system is a dual boot PC (Windows 10 / Zorin 16 core) running on an SSD drive.
I have two internal HDD drives formatted as NTFS and several external drives formatted as NTFS and ext4 using them as storage drives only.

My problem is that some of my programs can see neither the external nor the internal drives (except the SSD) when browsing files. I can see all my drives via the filemanager (Nautilus) I can open, cancel, edit all my files so I think the drives are mounted correctly.
Some programs (e.g.GIMP/Inkscape/Libreoffice) seem to use Nautilus for browsing files, so I have full access to them, in some cases (Krita) I can use My Computer/Media/User path to reach the other drives.
But in Flacon and Kid3 the only option is My Computer, where I can't find Media folder so can't reach the other drives just the Music and Download folders on my main drive.

How can I make these programs see my other drives? It is some kind of permission issue?
Moving all my music files to the Music or Download folder to be able to work with them then copying them back to the original folder on my external drive is annoying and takes extra time, so I'm hoping there's a solution.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the forum :robot:

I had a similar problem when I installed OnlyOffice in Flatpak.
Because of the sandboxing nature of Flatpak/SNAP apps, the app cannot access external disk nor network printer.

Check and see if you installed those apps in apt package, not Flatpak nor SNAP.

4 Likes

In addition, NTFS does not play well with Linux and ext4.

Ext4 uses filing system At need, unlike NTFS, which uses the filing based on First Available Space.
This is why NTFS must be defragmented, whereas ext4 does not fragment - and if it does, it performs self-repair.
Please open a terminal and install:

sudo apt install ntfs-3g