SoundBlaster G5 Mic not showing/working

Hey all. Got a problem that seems to be a Linux one, not just Zorin but each distro has its own way to "fix" it. When I was using Mint, to make the mic work from my Sound Blaster G5, I had to type this in CLI -

amixer -c 1 sset 'PCM Cature Source' 'External Mic'

Had to do that every time I was going to use the mic for Discord, Zoom, etc. That command doesn't work in Zorin. As I am still pretty new in Linux but try to find solutions to problems, I am not sure how to do the same or even a permanent fix for this issue. Don't understand why Linux, in general, has this problem as it seems to been an issue for over a decade. Not complaining about Zorin, just in Linux as a whole. :slight_smile:

What do I need to do to get my mic working again to use for Zoom meetings and Discord? Thanks!

If you have alsamixer installed use the command amixer to automatically switch the PCM capture source to the Mic.

For me this was: amixer -c 1 sset 'PCM Capture Source' 'External Mic'

Run this at startup by saving as an executable script and adding to Startup applications or by using /etc/init/. -c 1 selects card 1 (the Soundblaster G5 in my case). You can run amixer -c 1 get 'PCM Capture Source' to get the other options like 'What U Hear'. Plus you can also set your appropriate volume/gain etc using alsamixer to save those.

Try this, G5 and G6 using the same steps to work.

1 Like

You may also need to install alsamixer, first.

In terminal run Alsamixer and post a screenshot of All sound channels so we can see what mic seetings may be adrift.

Took me a while to find out to run alsamixer, it needs to be all lower case. No capital A. :slight_smile:

After reinstalling alsamixer using Synaptic, the CLI command works now. BUT, I don't know how to make a executable script to add to startup. I do know how to add to start up, but not how to make EXE scripts. Still very new and slow learning Linux. :slight_smile: