Steam games are lagging

Hi there,
i am new to Zorin (just installed it yesterday).
I set it up like i want now and tried to continue Dysmantled, which i was playing on Solus before. However, the game is completely unplayable. I can pretty much count the frames it is showing. Same with Spelunky 2.
Since the games ran perfectly fine before, and they are really not that hardware needy, i wonder why this could be. I tried different Proton versions and some suggestions from a thread in this forum. Nothing helped.

I hope you can help me, since i really like this distro so far but this problem puts a huge damper on it.

Yours,
Hegad

I wonder if Graphics Drivers are responsible. Can you post the output of

sudo lshw -c video

This is the output of the command:
*-display
Beschreibung: VGA compatible controller
Produkt: Hawaii PRO [Radeon R9 290/390]
Hersteller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
Physische ID: 0
Bus-Informationen: pci@0000:01:00.0
Version: 00
Breite: 64 bits
Takt: 33MHz
Fähigkeiten: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
Konfiguration: driver=radeon latency=0
Ressourcen: irq:32 memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f07fffff ioport:e000(Größe=256) memory:f7e00000-f7e3ffff memory:c0000-dffff

Hawaii PRO [Radeon R9 290/390]....

Please try:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/updates

sudo apt update && sudo apt -y upgrade

Yeah, i don't have the money for an upgrade :
The commands didn't fix it unfortunately, even after a reboot..

That is a software upgrade, nothing to purchase.
You can open terminal with ctrl+alt+t and then copy and paste each highlighted command above, one at a time, into the terminal and then hit "enter" after each.

Yes, i meant no money for an upgrade on my graphics card :smiley:
The commands didn't work, though

1 Like

Best Misunderstanding... Ever...

1 Like

My guess it's kernel regression. Try boot into a previous kernel.