Stop middle mouse pasting / startup shell script

Hi I'm pretty new to Linux, but I'm really struggling with the function middle mouse click paste since I paste my passwords all over the place. I tried using gnome tweaks, but the setting doesn't seem to work at all. I've tried various methods online but mostly cant use them since my lack of knowledge of linux. After searching the web for the past two hours, I've found the following script to work pretty well:

#!/bin/sh
while true; do
    xsel -fin </dev/null
done

But I would have to run this every time on startup in the terminal manually and would not be able to close the terminal since it would kill the script. I've tried to run it on startup but have not managed to do so, mostly because the solutions dont seem to account for people who lack the knowledge (like myself).
I would be really appreciative if someone could give me a solution with a dummie step-by-step guide.
Thanks!

Selecting the middle click paste in Tweaks should actually work, does with me.

Honestly not sure at, why it doesn't work with you.

Apart from that, getting used to pasting with ctrl+v is pretty fast, too, if that is something you wanna try.

Thanks for your reply.

Im also not really sure why gnome tweaks doesnt work but there seem to be other people with the same issue. Im used to pasting with ctrl+v hence why I have opened this thread. I use ctrl+v all the time but never middle mouse paste because I use it for scrolling. Its really irritating pasting all my clipboard stuff all over the place so this is why I want to remove this function of it specifically.

You can rearrange that script into a one-line script and put it as an entry in 'Startup Applications'. That way, it's run every time you boot.

Or in Terminal:

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.interface gtk-enable-primary-paste false
2 Likes