Taskbar not showing applications running in background

Hello good people of the Zorin OS forum.

I'm fairly new to Zorin OS, so far I enjoy the experience coming from Windows 10.

What I'm experiencing is an issue with the taskbar, where the background applications that start with the OS are not visible. For example I installed Flameshot with the software manager, and with the Startup Applications app. The command to start it is: /usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=flameshot org.flameshot.Flameshot.

Thing is, this worked a few days ago, and after some update of the system, it stopped showing up in the taskbar. The process is running, I can see it under processes, but it does not come to focus (even ALT + Tab). I can't get to the UI of Flameshot. The same goes for DropBox and NextCloud.

So I doubt it's a Flameshot thing only.

Here is my machine info from neofetch:

Host: 81YQ IdeaPad 5 15ARE05
Kernel: 5.13.0-39-generic
Packages: 2922 (dpkg), 47 (flatpak),
Shell: bash 5.0.17
Resolution: 1920x1080
DE: GNOME
WM: Mutter
WM Theme: ZorinBlue-Dark
Theme: ZorinBlue-Dark [GTK2/3]
Icons: ZorinBlue-Dark [GTK2/3]
Terminal: gnome-terminal
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 4800U with Radeon G
GPU: AMD ATI 03:00.0 Renoir
Memory: 2221MiB / 15358MiB

I rebooted the laptop a few times, and It got working again, but then in the next reboot it's not.

What I can see in my logs:

22:40:55 systemd: Failed to start Application launched by gnome-session-binary.

22:40:55 systemd: Failed to start Application launched by gnome-session-binary.

22:40:53 systemd: Failed to start Application launched by gnome-session-binary.

22:40:52 gdm-session-wor: gkr-pam: unable to locate daemon control file

22:40:45 smartd: Device: /dev/nvme0, number of Error Log entries increased from 2736 to 2738

22:40:43 kernel: integrity: Problem loading X.509 certificate -65

This is a known Gnome bug and unlikely to be related to your issue.

Please run