The Software Updater

Hello everyone. I am using Zorin Ultimate on an ASUS laptop. As an experienced Windows user I chose Zorin as a way to get rid of Win 10. My experience so far has been positive. I should add that I am a Linux newbie. My question is, the software updater presents a number of updates, for example language packs for Firefox that do not seem relevent to me. When I uncheck these, they continue to be shown as needed to be updated when the updater shows up next.
My question is basically, are all these updates recommended by Zorin and been tested for compatibility. So should I just accept all udates automatically. This sort of thing was one of the things that finally made me decide to leave the Windows world.
Interested to hear your views.

I personally install updates that are recommended by the software makers. Most of the time when you get updates, its security updates to the software, and bug fixes. And yes, sometimes its simply software improvements as well.

This is not like back in the 90's, when a language pack would take up so much space, that we would decide not to install them. In modern times with huge hard drives, it makes no difference to file space. It doesn't hurt to install them.

But you mentioned Windows 10. I will tell you something, Microsoft doesn't give you any choice in the matter when it comes to updates. Windows 10 automatically downloads updates, installs them, and then restarts your computer without your permission.

Linux gives you choice, it does not automatically download and install updates. You have to manually initiate the update process, and you choose when to do that. You also choose weather or not you want to restart now, or later, again its your choice.

Its in my humble opinion, you made the right choice switching to Linux. Updates to software on Linux comes from trusted sources repositories. So yes, its my opinion, they have been vetted.