"TOPAZ not supported in kfd"

Hello,

After using Zorin for the past few months on VM and dual boot, I finally decided to burn the bridge, and install it bare metal (?) on my primary.. Lenovo Ideapad 330. Installation went fine, everything worked. Installed all apps and set everything else up.

And then this happened:

Restarted, logo and zorin screen appeared, grub screen (?) appeared, but then it's stuck at "TOPAZ not supported in kfd".

I tried restarting, and I also set the BIOS to default. Same result. I did some googling but it seems beyond my comprehension, as I'm new to Linux. It might be a conflict with the AMD GPU of some sort?

I read a suggestion to "update BIOS", and I.. don't know how to do that, as all BIOS seem different and even the Lenovo help site uses a different BIOS than mine.

I've installed Zorin as a single OS on a 7 year old ASUS before, and it works fine. So safe to assume its a hardware conflict with my primary Lenovo.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I should add that I've been using Windows and Zorin in Dual Boot on this Lenovo laptop for the past few months, and never encountered this issue before. This only happened after I installed it as a single OS (use the entire disk).

So not sure how valid my theory on "hardware conflict" is. :slight_smile:

Topaz is an AMD GPU correct and that is the issue

Please run sudo lshw -c video

and give a screenshot

And give a system specs please

From what i read it's a bios issue. You can go here, put in your model and get the latest bios. Don't download the Microsoft variant. Usually, in the bios there is a utility to upgrade it. Otherwise a quick search of "how to update the bios for lenovo IdeaPad 330" will give you what you need.

I'd advise doing the search... the bios isn't one to not know and just try. Make sure you don't interrupt it, no matter how long it takes.