Transparent network share access within Active Directory environment

Hi there,

In my lab, I choose Zorin as my "desktop Linux distro" and I setup a VM to play around with.

I installed and joined the VM to my AD during install without any issue (login works great) and I can access a network share by putting my credentials without any issue.

Thing is: I need to put my credentials twice to get access to that share and I'd like to go a bit further and have a "transparent" access to the shares like on a Windows machine.

It's probably missing some packet/configuration but as I'm still learning Linux, I don't know which one... and following Ubuntu tutorials also might not be the most efficient way to install the minimum required.

Any advice to give me? Thanks in advance! :wink:

I used to work from home at start of lockdown until I retired. Ironically, a month before I retired I learned how to login to the secure connection. Initially I had been reliant on connecting via Edge of a Windows 8.1 Pro VM. Ironically I had to enter my credentials not once but three times to access the shared directory. Enter Remmina Remote which is present on Zorin. All I had to do was point to the cpub.exe file that got downloaded in Edge to make the connection. See if you can do a search on Remmina and Active Directory.

Hi @swarfendor437 :slight_smile:

I try to access a share that is on a Synology, but it is also joined to Active Directory and accesses are managed through access groups.

I looked into Remmina and thanks a lot, it is a great RDP software, which I'll need anyway later on but I didn't quite get the thing with cpub.exe to access the network shares. Can you explain a bit? Thx! :wink:

(PS: Yes! I googled Remmina + AD :upside_down_face:)