"try or install zorin os" freezes

I'm new to Linux and it's probably the third day trying to install zorin os, but every time i boot to the pendrive and select the "try or install zorin OS" option, my PC completely freezes, and I can't find a solution

Can someone please help me? I really want to try this OS

Are you using Intel, AMD or Nvidia Graphics?

1 Like

I'm with Intel integrated graphics

Hmmmm... this is already a stumper... The only reason I know of that causes this (Aside from a Corrupted .iso) would be Nvidia or AMD graphics struggling to initialize the trial version -given the generic non-installed drivers.
Would you be willing to double check your machine and see if you also have a dedicated GPU?

1 Like

No,i don't have a dedicated GPU (sadly)

Accessing your EFI / BIOS Settings, can you check if you are using AHCI or RAID?
Is windows currently Installed? If so, which version?
How much RAM do you have?
Have you tried a different USB port?
What size USB drive did you place Zorin OS .iso on?
And... What etcher did you use to burn it?

And... did you check the SHA256 checksum of the downloaded iso?

1 Like

I have windows 7 installed, 2gb of ram, the USB drive is 8gb, and I'm using BalenaEtcher

I'm going to try an different USB port, didn't test it yet

Also, try a different etcher.
2gigs of RAM - that is a bit low. Shouldn't be a problem with the Try Zorin, but I would aim for Zorin OS Lite...
Windows 7, I believe has Fast Startup or Fast Boot in Control Panel > power
That can be turned off for your trials.

1 Like

Yeah, i checked it and it's fine

1 Like

Going to try Rufus

Unetbootin is another good alternative to Balena etcher.
(Balena has a poor reputation for wrecking USB sticks according to several forum mentions, even though it is the suggested installation tool by the devs.)

1 Like

Aha! I can prove the installer does indeed freeze.