Trying to install Tor

Hi,

Following this tut:

And I got this:

sudo cp /opt/tor-browser/Browser/start-tor-browser.desktop /usr/share/applications

Althoug being a Linux rookie, I expect this to make an ikon on the desktop for launcing Tor...

Evan

PS. My biggest wish right now is a an easy guide and gentle "Linux for Windows users", so I at least don't have wrestle so much with alien like commands. :o)

follow these guides maybe?

Did you reboot after adding the application file to /usr/share? Do other icons show up on your desktop? Did you change the permissions to make it executable? Try disabling and enabling the desktop icons extension.

Thanks.

Questions:

1. Did you reboot after adding the application file to /usr/share?
  2. Do other icons show up on your desktop?
  3. Did you change the permissions to make it executable?
  4. Try disabling and enabling the desktop icons extension.

Replies:

1. I tried reboot and noticed nothing.
  2. No other icons are showing up on the desktop.
  3. I just followed the the tut...
  4. Howto?

Evan

1 Like

install this
flatpak install flathub com.github.micahflee.torbrowser-launcher -y
and install tor from there

Or, if you prefer to avoid flatpak:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:micahflee/ppa

sudo apt update && sudo apt install torbrowser-launcher

@Adithyansm: Ended with a black screen.

@Aravisian: sudo add-apt-repository ppa:micahflee/ppa - was not available now

sudo apt update && sudo apt install torbrowser-launcher - seems to work.

But I must admit that I have no clue what flatpack is... And will I always have to struggle with this Alien Terminal stuff, that give almost no meaning for me?

Is there another way to install like the software that are ready to install from inside Zorin?

TOR is in the software store in Zorin, try that if you still can't install it.

If you mean like a Self Installing Package, that would be any *.deb package, where the * stands for the package name.