Unable to launch MS Flight SImulator X: Steam Edition on Linux

Hello everybody,

We have a MS Flight simulator X installed on an older PC , where it was running fine, up until a few months back: after that, only splash screen will appear, but then the game will not launch.

I am using Zorin OS 16.3, Steam installed through dl.flathub.org.

When it comes to compatibility: Properties/Compatibility: Proton 5.13-6 Steam/Propereties/General/launch options: PROTON_USE_WINED3D11=1 PROTON_LOG=1 %command% -FastLaunch

I am attaching log from launching the game:

I did try these things (none of that helped):

As I said, game was running before, it is not anymore and I am quite new to Linux (and Steam as well), so any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

Many of us have been encountering this within just the last few months. Prior to that, never had a problem with Steam.
But now, many games that used to launch have just stopped launching and several of us have started threads on it.

I recommend opening Steam App > On the menubar,s elect Help > Steam Support

Select your title and submit a help ticket describing your issue in detail, the contents of terminal output for

sudo lshw -C video

glxinfo -B

It is worth trying - though I have had no response to my submitted support tickets.

Have you done any updates on the flight simulator software recently? Some people are finding themselves locked out of their games because of new anti-cheat code that doesn't play well with Steam.

Not manually, no. Any and all updates which are done are only through OS itself, which manages updates by itself.

I am sure there has been some updates since the last time it last was running, but if they were done by software itself, I cannot tell.

Dang, thanks for a prompt reply.

Well, I can at least rest easily knowing it´s not some botched update on our PC, but Steam problem in general.