Updating to kernel version 5.13

My laptop is a zephyrus m16, and I use zorin os 16 core.
Unfortunately, my laptop's wifi and bluetooth does not work. After a bit of searching, my wifi card, which is a MEDIATEK 7961 turns out to be supported after kernel 5.12+.
So, I want to update my kernel version to 5.13. Are there any instructions that I can follow? I'm a beginner to linux :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I don't know i would advise this. You may run into many issues. The DE and WM are configured to work well with the current version of the kernel (4.11.41). Going that far ahead may break things, cause applications to stop working, memory leaks and many other possibilities.

You may be able to upgrade the firmware instead of the entire kernel. Other possibilities are searching the device specific drivers for Ubuntu 20.04 (LTS).

Since there were a few bugs that weren't ironed out between kernel 27 and 40, you may run into many more. Be careful in going beyond the kernel provided for the OS... the Zorin's have tested and ensured stability (mostly) with their updates.

2 Likes

In addition to @337harvey 's comment, vetted kernels for either Ubuntu or Zorin OS have distro specific patches that you will find are lacking in the mainline Linux kernel.

4.11? I just did an update (from GUI Software Updates app) and it installed the 5.13. How is this possible?

Zorin OS now includes the 5.13 HWE package, which I also just discovered today...
That is the Hardware Enabled Linux-headers package.

2 Likes

well my uname -r actually states

5.13.0-25-generic

is this a hwe release?

1 Like

@StarTreker will be pleased...

1 Like

Yes please, I'd like that, with a little hot sauce on top. :yum:

I literally just got the notification a couple minutes ago, so I am installing them now. But I don't feel like restarting right away, cause I am busy with photo production right now, you guys will soon see the results of that BTW.