Why doesnt my keyboard on my laptop react after sleep

the laptop is from the asus rog zephyrus series and often the keyboard (but the touchpad) does not react, so that i have to use screen keyboard or reboot. i am new to linux and dont know what todo. ive read this article: Laptop keyboard unresponsive - #8 by Aravisian, it helped at first but after time the laptop was in sleep mode, the keyboard doesnt react anymore.

that "boot-repair" program from Do I need Microsoft firmware update when I use only Linux now? - #3 by Aravisian says at the beginning:

boot-repair-4ppa200-zorin1 [20221008_2010]

============================== Boot Info Summary ===============================

=> No boot loader is installed in the MBR of /dev/nvme0n1.

i dont know if this is essentiall for this topic.

1 Like

MBR is Master Boot Record. You would see MBR if you are using Legacy boot option.
Undoubtedly, on an NVMe drive, you are using EFI boot. The bootloader would be located int he EFI system partition.

You might change grub from what was tried in the other thread to:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash i8042.reset"

Then be sure to run

sudo update-grub

There are quite a few Grub parameters that you can try...
Here is a list:
atkbd.reset=1
i8042.nomux=1
i8042.reset=1
i8042.nopnp=1
i8042.dumbkbd=1

You do not need to try them all individually. You can pop them all in at once to see if any work:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash atkbd.reset=1 i8042.nomux=1 i8042.reset=1 i8042.nopnp=1 i8042.dumbkbd=1"

sudo update-grub

But in my opinion, it is better to reduce grub parameters to only what you need.
So I would try narrowing that list down to any that work all the time.

Okay, ill see itomorrow if everything works.
Thanks for your fast help.

well it didnt work :expressionless:

i have tried the multi option thing and straight up the keyboard didnt react after sleep anymore.

Hmmm...
Please run

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

and change to