WiFi connected, no internet

So I was messing around with proton, found this GitHub issue: How to properly autoconnect on startup · Issue #44 · ProtonVPN/linux-cli · GitHub

And I added this command that was commented here to the startup: How to properly autoconnect on startup · Issue #44 · ProtonVPN/linux-cli · GitHub

/usr/bin/protonvpn-cli ks --off && /usr/bin/protonvpn-cli c -f && protonvpn &

Then I restarted my laptop.

Internet stopped working, the VPN didn't even work, so I completely uninstalled it, both protonvpn and protonvpn-cli, restarted my laptop, still the same issue. I restarted my router, still the same issue. I realize that I shouldn't have just added some random command to the startup and tested it but for some reason I thought nothing would go wrong.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, I'm still very new to Linux and Zorin so I don't have much experience, I tried many solutions that I found online using my phone but none worked, some suggested running sudo apt-get update but there's literally no internet so that didn't work.

Can you try temporarily connecting your computer to the internet through your Phone Provided Hotspot?

Others have experienced ProtonVPN net connectivity as well:

1 Like

I ran into the same issue when I was still using proton, make sure it hasn't changed your wifi settings. Usually the easiest way is to forget your connection delete the profile if there is one and reconnect fresh. Usually it makes some change to Mac address behavior that your router doesn't like.

Check out pia VPN.

3 Likes

I did as you said, made a new profile and reconnected to the internet with it, but the internet issue was still present

That Reddit post is about the problem but on windows, I couldn't make use of it to solve my issue since I'm on Zorin.

It shows that ProtonVPN is the culprit.:wink: