Zorin 15.3 Lite forcepae syntax

Good morning all. I’m relatively new to Linux but not a complete virgin as I installed LXLE on an old laptop a couple of years ago. Following some glowing reviews of Zorin I thought I would like to give it a try but have been unable to do so - on the same laptop on which I successfully installed LXLE. The issue is with PAE. The laptop is an HP nx7010 (c.2004) Pentium M 1.7 GHz 1GB RAM. No option to boot from USB in the BIOS so have burnt ISO to a DVD and checked the integrity of the download. I have found only one Q&A relating to PAE in this forum but the link to Ubuntu doesn’t work for me due to the syntax. After hitting TAB the line displayed reads: > /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper quiet splash — initrd=c/casper/initrd.lz4 I note the delimiter here has 3 dashes and have typed “forcepae” either side with spaces to no effect. I have tried various other permutations but, because I do not understand Linux at this level, I am clutching at straws in the dark :slight_smile: I sometimes get the Zorin splash screen, sometimes a line by line account of the install (all with a green ‘OK’). I then usually get a black screen with a white taskbar that slowly loads icons but then freezes with the network icon blacked out. At no time do I get to see the screen that gives me the option to try or install. Is this a hopeless case or can someone please advise me on the correct way to input the forcepae instruction? Many thanks in advance

@ThreeSpiresUK Are you trying 32bit or 64bit Lite?
There is a thread on old Zorin Forum that may (or may not) help. It too mentions pae. Re: Installing Zorin Lite on an old laptop - Old Zorin Forum archive

1 Like

The delimiter should be two dashes with forcepae on either side of the delimiter.
Could you please test your installation with that change?