Zorin 16 text on desktop and windows truncated

The text display on my desktop and the various windows I open (i.e. files, settings, etc.) have the top portion of the test cut off. Very hard to read. I read something somewhere (wish I could remember where so I could re-read it) regarding improved graphical properties. Any suggestions? (I would attach a screen shot, but that's above my current skill set.)

1 Like

Follow Turtle11's advice to take your screenshot.
Then to attach the screenshot to your post, click the "Upload" icon (7th from left, looks like a picture) on the Reply box toolbar and select your picture file to be inserted.

1 Like

Also, please include a copy of the result of:

sudo lshw -C video

It definitely sounds like a graphical issue.

1 Like

Thank you everyone, both for the information and not making me feel like a total newb. I took a screen shot earlier using ctrl+PrtScn and saved it in a .docx file, which won't upload. However, I re-booted and the text looks fine at the moment. But that wasn't the first time it happened and I would be surprised if it's the last. I will re-try when it happens again. Having to reboot is a pain.

1 Like

I have had a graphics bug similar happen, though it has been a very long time since it has happened.
The text onscreen looked smeared across the screen.

Within a day, a patch rolled down from Zorin OS and resolved it - before I could post about it on the old ZorinGroup Forum.

I have not had that happen since...

1 Like

Just to resume, you can take screenshots these ways:

:point_right: press PrtScn button (should be above Backspace button) on your keyboard

:point_right: with a specific keyboard shortcut as you did

:point_right: from the default screenshot software, you can access it on Z logo > Utilities > Screenshot, and even edit some settings.