Zorin and future X11 support

So with many other releases and/or desktops dropping support for X11 and moving to wayland exclusively, what is the position with Zorin with regard to continued native support for X11?

Sure wayland attempts to provide support for X11 apps running under wayland but its very flakey so it would be great to know if Zorin is committed to providing a native X11 DE for future releases.

Thanks,

Bluck

3 Likes

When I recently installed Zorin OS 17 on a new machine, X was the default, not Wayland. Probably this was because that machine had Nvidia graphics. I am not a developer, so I don't know the technical advantages of Wayland. However, for me as an end-user, Wayland is just a system that cannot reliably display softwares I am using.

Gnome and Ubuntu probably want to replace X with Wayland, but Zorin OS is independent from these projects and can follow its own development policy. Until the Wayland issues are resolved, it is desirable that Zorin OS continue to support X.

1 Like

Not that independent. Zorin relies on GNOME or Xfce for the desktop environments. Finally, Zorin uses Ubuntu as the base. Sure they make some customization here and there to improve the Linux experience, but the heavy lifting comes from Ubuntu, GNOME, and Xfce. Wayland will be or is default with GNOME and Ubuntu. X11 will have a transition period and it is available now with Zorin. Eventually, developers need to adapt to Wayland for their respective applications. The good thing is Zorin uses Wayland or X11 as needed depending on your hardware and/or software.:+1:

1 Like

I think that will depend on Gnome and xfce in the Mainpoint. When Gnome would say ''With Gnome Version XX we kick off X11'' then it depends what the Distro Developer will make. When Ubuntu thinks that it is not the right Time they could implement it and the Zorin has it too. And when Ubuntu would say that they go with it the Zorin Crew could add X11.