Zorin Splash Screen missing

Hi, everyone, I'm new with Zorin, about a month ago, I decided to install it as my OS on my computer. Everything has worked fine so far; however, some days ago, I started my computer as usual, but the big ZORIN logo dissapeared, there is a tiny text instead (Zorin OS 15, that's what it says) and a short log which indicates that everything loads right. The system loads fine with no errors, but I would like to know how to bring the big Zorin logo back. Thanks for your help.

1 Like

In terminal, can you please enter:

sudo update-alternatives --config default.plymouth

A configuration editor will opena nd you should see listed:
/usr/share/plymouth/themes/zorin-logo.plymouth

To the left of it will be a number: 0 or 1 or 2...

Choose the number next to /usr/share/plymouth/themes/zorin-logo.plymouth and type it into the terminal and hit enter.
It should do it's thing, then you must update the init:

sudo update-initramfs -u

On your next restart, you should see the normal Zorin Logo Splash screen.

And yes, I typed that from memory. I play with Plymouth a lot LOL....

1 Like

Thnaks for helping me but I get this message after typing the first line you suggested:

"update-alternatives: error: there are not alternatives for default.plymouth

I navigated to the /usr/share/plymouth/themes directory and these are the folders placed in there:

details
text
tribar
ubuntu-text
zorin-text

There is also a file called "text.plymouth"

What should I do now?

Interesting... It's as if your Plymouth theme was removed. Have you performed sudo apt autoremove recently? Or removed any software?

In the meantime; install the plymouth theme with:

sudo apt install plymouth-theme-zorin-logo

Then,

sudo update-alternatives --config default.plymouth

Thank you so much, I couldn't install it with the Terminal but I downloaded the Zorin Plymouth Theme from GNOME Look and installed it manually following the instructions given.