Backup data to move to new Distro

After a couple of months of using Zorin, I am moving back to Endeavour OS, for a number of reasons including faster system performance, Better support for Plasma my preferred de, The aur and use of a better package manager and mainly as I'm not a linux beginner something that Zorin is mainly catered for.

I want to know if there is a way to back up/move some data/apps that I can't find explicit documentation for. These apps include some singleplayer offline worlds in Veloren, My current unity installation(I can't reinstall it as I am on limited wifi data amounts due to my place of residence) and the unity projects in my home directory as I have tried to transfer them to usbs in the past but failed to load up the projects even with the exact same installation.

Please provide adequate information if you know of any methods.
Thanks

Being an experienced linux user one should know?

As i'm not an experienced linux user can you explain to me why Endeavour OS is better equip to handle Plasma DE?

Try this link, they may have a better idea as you said your returning back to Endeavour.

This is one way to backup some parts to full system backup

Good luck take care.
Ocka

2 Likes

Zorin isn't explicitly designed for KDE it's designed for gnome and mainly uses GTK applications so replacing all those for their QT equivalents will take a while and it's just easier to install a straight-up plasma distro. Something that endeavour caters to as you can choose any desktop.

GTK is still installed with plasma but its generally easier to just use QT

Thanks but that will take a copy of the whole system I mainly just need to transfer my apps and unity projects

Zorin OS is adaptable as any distro.
Eg:

1 Like

ik but I still prefer Endeavour and plus zorin is a bit old and slow to my liking

Plus I'm a proper distro hopper

Edit: We are straying a bit off topic