Boot Problem

I've been using Zorin OS 16 Core for about 4 months now, and my experience overall is good and nice, and lighter than Win10. But, there's a problem that keeps happening. Weirdly, it's happening within a period of time let's say about a week and it appears monthly. So the problem is right here

This happens whenever I try to boot up my laptop. Not just that, sometimes I couldn't even get into the BIOS Menu before the Zorin Grub menu. If there's someone could help me out from this problem, I will appreciate it so much.

Device:
Acer(Laptop) Aspire E1
4 GB RAM
Intel Celeron B830 1.8 GHz
Dual Boot with Win 10

Can you please roll back to the previous kernel and test?

I'm not sure because I never do that before. If you may, could you explain how to do that please??

Yes, from the Grub Menu, which you see when you first boot your computer (If you do not see, try tapping the esc key when you see the motherboard splash screen and keep tapping it until Grub apears):
Select Advanced Options for Zorin
Arrow key to the option for Zorin on... and choose the earlier (lower number) kernel
Tap the enter key to boot that kernel.

Once you log in, you can double check that all went according to plan by running in terminal:

uname -r

1 Like

Okay, I'll inform you later after I try it. But, will there be any side-effect if I do this whether it's side-effect to my /home partition or even my Win 10 partition??

So, I just tried this method and here what happened afterward:

1. After I applied using the 39 kernel(the previous kernel), my laptop managed to boot into Zorin OS and its desktop. Then, I want to test it one more time by turned off my laptop, and turned it back on. When my laptop tried to turn it back on, it stuck at my Acer screen, so I forced it to turn off by put out the battery.
  2. Then, I put the battery back in and tried to turn it back on, but this time, it actually booted up in no time to Zorin Grub menu and the OS itself.