Clean reinstall of Chrome

Hi,

I'm having trouble with Chrome and I want to uninstall it and reinstall it. I'm just wondering if uninstalling it via the software application is adequate or if I need to clean anything up via the terminal.

I initially installed Chrome via the software store and it didn't work properly - I was having issues in Quickbooks, which is critical for me, and other SaaS too. I had issues with other applications that I installed via the software store but installing them directly by downloading the deb file and double clicking on it fixed them. Doing the same didn't fix Chrome though.

After reinstalling, Chrome got faster but Quickbooks is still not working properly and it's supposed to be compatible with Chrome on Linux. I'm a bookkeeper and spend most of my time in Quickbooks!

Might cleaning something up before I try installing it again help? Or is there something else? I've used the terminal a bit but I'm not confident with it.

PS - I need to use Chrome because one of my critical apps is in beta and stable on Chrome only.

Thanks so much for any help
Grace

When you installed from Software Store, what Source did you install from?
If unsure, there is a button marked Source that appears on top right of headerbar for that page.

Flatpak only,

1 Like

Yes, thanks Ocka. That's the one I installed.

1 Like

If Flatpkak - it is sandboxed and will not be able to communicate with other essential files on the system.

I recommend using the .deb package instead.
Users can retireve the .deb package with wget using terminal

wget https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb

Which, of course is just the wget command followed by the link to the download page.

You can immediately run the dpkg command in terminal to install it

sudo dpkg -i google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb

or double click the freshly downloaded .deb package in your home directory to run the installer.