Conflicts with intel dell all in one

Hi everyone, I'm new to linux and love it alot, but my machine doesn't seem to agree. I have been on journey of different distro's and Zorin's os is great. My issues are the machine slows down after a few day, and reinstalling doesnt improve, I have reflashed the bios, and suspect there is conflict somewhere but tbh I'm no whizz, need some trouble shooting guidance thanks, Dell Ispiron 5940

How much RAM does your machine have?

Is it dedicated graphics only, or do you also have AMD or Nvidia?

How often do you reboot?

Thanks for the reply I have 12gb ram, reboot a few times a day, Intel graphic I think?

Can you please install gnome-tweaks, if you haven't already:

sudo apt install gnome-tweaks

Launch Tweaks and turn off Animations (First Option) under General.

ok done,

I can only suggest testing for now.:wink:

Given your RAM, graphics and specs... You shouldn't be seeing slowness. But you are. So figuring out the exact cause... May be tricky.

Another option may be to replace the kernel.

The likeliest culprit will lie in the Gnome-Shell.

So if push comes to shove, Zorin OS Lite (XFCE) will probably completely solve the issue. But let's test other things, first... Unless you are eager to just use XFCE.

I'll reboot and see if it improves, but i'm down a rabbit hole now so lets see if we can find the treasure :wink: thanks for time so far

I was wondering about the amount of RAM you have too until I read that you have 12GB of it, and that is more then enough RAM to run any Linux distro no matter how heavy it is. I got OS16 running on a old dual core with only 8GB of RAM, and its happy as a clam. (Although I don't know what a happy clam feels like)

However, I am a bit concerned that we may still have a memory related issue going on. Have you run MEMTEST86? I highly suggest you run that to test the RAM to make sure its good.