Daily freezing and forced reboot

Starting only about 1 week ago, my computer has been freezing and locking up, forcing me to reboot.

The computer typically freezes during work hours, when I've got the following apps up and running:

• MatterMost
  • VSCode
  • Gnome Terminal
  • Files
  • Firefox
  • Brave

When the computer freezes:

• If there is audio currently playing, the audio will start repeating that last half second or so.
  • My cursor will remain in place, but if I move my mouse around, after about 10 seconds, I might see a tiny bit of movement of the cursor onscreen.
  • I cannot alt + tab to anything, force quit, etc. Everything appears to be completely locked up.

I have been achieving a reboot by:

• hold alt + printscr
  • press r, e, i, s, u, b

After the most recent freeze + reboot, I immediately ran the following:
journalctl -b -1 -e

Here is the output:

I am no expert on parsing this information. There are a few things in there that could be culprits? This line in particular is interesting:
/usr/libexec/gdm-x-session[3659]: (EE) client bug: timer event2 debounce short: scheduled expiry is in the past (-5ms), your system is too slow

My specs:

• Kernel: 5.11.0-40-generic
  • Monitors: 3 connected, with primary monitor running at 3440x1440@100hz via DP
  • DE: GNOME
  • WM: Mutter
  • CPU: Intel i7-4790K (8) @ 4.400GHz
  • GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 (also have Intel HD Graphics)
  • GPU Driver: 495.44
  • Memory: total 31984MiB

If anyone can offer advice I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

Hi,

What is your system specs?

1 Like

@Bubby apologies for not including this! I've edited my OP to include the specs.

2 Likes

I would suspect this first.
We lately have several members having problem in interaction between integrated GPU and discrete GPU.

1 Like

Pull up terminal and type this: sudo apt update & sudo apt upgrade

@FrenchPress is there a way to disable the Intel HD Graphics so that only my GPU is active?