Does Zorin 16 support NVMe SSDs?

I've been interested in installing Zorin 16 on my laptop for school for a while now and I've been doing a bit of research before I attempt to install it. I noticed that people have been having issues installing Zorin on NVMe SSDs, which is the one and only type of drive my laptop contains. Is this going to be a problem when I try to install Zorin 16, or is this mainly a problem with previous versions?

Any information is appreciated! Thanks in advance! :smiley:

You will find a conversation about NVMe SSDs here which may give you a steer. Samsung or Crucial SSD? - #13 by dasjdoom

2 Likes

Thanks! This does give me some insight. I'm still a bit unsure, but I'm more confident now.

Hi @ShayButta and welcome to the community :slight_smile:
For your info: I have been using Zorin 15 and 16 for more than 6 months now on my HP ENVY-x360 laptop. The only drive available is internal NVMe SSD and never saw a single problem.
So don't be afraid and go for it, NVMe is just a standard tech these days, which is normally supported by Linux :wink:

1 Like

Shaybutta is looking rainbow :rainbow: pretty, I like that a lot. Are you ready for this? Good!

binary-comment

You know what that is? That is a Western Digital SN750 1TB NVME of the 2280 M.2 variety. It's so fast it makes Doc Browns Diloran look like a hot wheel.

I've been running Zorin OS 16 just fine on it. It's a PCI gen 3 drive and boy is it fast. :grin: Usually, when people talk of issues, they are talking about Samsung drives.

More then likely, the real cause of people's issues, is they are running a newer NVME drive then the bios fully supports. And, unless they do a bios update, issues.

Another issue can be from the Linux kernels as in lack of support for newer hardware. But like I said, I have no issues!

Now, if you see a shooting star coming your direction, you might want to move a couple of miles, hope it don't disturb your nebula too much now. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: