English as a foreign language

I am, but I'm extremely lazy. Got high marks all the time in Math and Science. I'm bad at my Chinese and Bahasa Melayu (Native Language of Malaysia).

I find it difficult to learn a new language, I have always spoke English because I was raised in the US and I moved to Malaysia.

1 Like

I remember when I was a student - many many days before computers and game consoles, our favourite after school past time was someone wrote a complex equation on the blackboard and we competed who can solve that one first.

But your English is very good.
It is even better than sloppy native speakers :wink:

2 Likes

But I'm Chinese, my father said, "that Chinese don't know how to speak in Chinese?" I mean he wasn't angry or anything, he is just telling me to learn my mother tongue.

2 Likes

To learn another language, one should master his/her mother language. I once was a Japanese language teacher in an English speaking country and this was my personal observation.

2 Likes

@Kedric The problem of learning a foreign language, if you are normally an English speaker, is continued use of the "foreign" language. i.e. if you don't use it you loose it, like Last-In-First-Out memory. In your case you should be immersed in Mandarin and Chinese Bahasa Melayu so that should not be a problem for you. I believe English and Chinese language skills will serve you well in future years.

3 Likes

Exactly that is my thinking!

eh... did we deviate from the theme of this thread too much? :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

In a word yes, but you noticed :smiley_cat: You can alway excercise your magic wand and do the splits.

@Kedric Question: has "bruh" replaced "Lah" in Malaysia or is it additional?

2 Likes

Depends, I think when we speak our native languages we will add 'Lah' but when I speak English I don't.

1 Like

I think that was a favourite introjection by @Alpha-Craft not by @Kedric.

One advantage of using English as a non-native speaker.