External Monitor not Detected

Hi;
Im a dutch zorin/linux beginner and i switched from win 10 to ZorinOS 3 weeks ago.
using it for 1 laptop and 2 desktops (HP DC7900 and DC6005pro.)
and my oldies working great again.I really like this OS, (zorin os 16 pro)
I understand linux notyet, but soon i will see the linux light :-), in stead of windows :expressionless:

But unfortunaly my laptop does not detect the external monitor (Samsung LE26S81B)
In the Display setting: "Unknown Display" /landscape,
the screenresolution 1920x1080 is and unfortunaly not adjustable
The 2 Desktop are working very well,with the same secundary monitor/tv.

i think that the problem is a display driver,
the bios: Nvidia n13m-ns1, 1024mb display 15,6 FHP.

Can anybody help me with my problem ?

Thank you

Device name: Dell Latitude E6530,Memory 7,7GiB : 1Processor:Intel® Core™ i7-3540M CPU @ 3.00GHz : Graphics :llvmpipe (LLVM 12.0.0, 256 bits) : Disk capacity:128,0 GB

Check Software Updater -> Settings -> Additional Drivers. If you have multiple options in them, try them. Make sure you click the Apply button when installing each of them.

Is there another output you can use? For example dvi vs vga vs hdmi?

Also, can you provide the output of sudo lshw -c video ?

1 Like

Thanks for your reaction carmar, ill appreciate you.

But there'ś no driver to choose from, i can't change the settings,
i have tried all 3 of the outputs off the laptop(hdmi, vga ,en DVI too (i have those cables) Visually i see that that there is a short connection to the external monitor, (and the message on screen : no signal)

*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: GF108GLM [NVS 5200M]
vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: a1
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
configuration: driver=nvidia latency=0