Grub failling instalation on Old Macbook 4,1 (2008)

Hi! I'm having some trouble trying to install Zorin OS Lite 15.3 32bit on an old Macbook 4,1. At first I was having struggling for it to launch, but it worked after trying the 32bit version and using YUMI to make the bootable device (for some reason it's only recognizing it as an EFI device through UEFI-YUMI). It goes through the installation normally and I've had trouble with grub before on some newer(2012-ish) machines but was easily fixed but changed the boot mode to legacy instead of UEFI. By my understanding, these old Macbook machines don't change the UEFI mode, right? As the installation was going smoothly before that, the SSD is already wiped and clean, so I don't have Mac OS X anymore, so I was just relying on the live usb to do some tests. After searching a bit I found rEFInd and maybe that help? But trying the instalation didn't do anything. Although, I'm not a professional so I'm justing jumping through hoops here trying to find a solution, all I'm really trying is to run Zorin as the main OS. As I'm completely stuck, I would really love suggestions as to what to try and do next, or what I may have done wrong. My partitions are only the default 2 that Zorin creates: sda1 as aprx 500MB FAT32 ESP and sda2 250GB ext4. Thanks in advance!

You also could try rEFInd:
https://www.rodsbooks.com/refind/

See... this is why I need to read the Whole O.P. before I rush to answer...

Here is a Full-Length guide that you can peruse to see if it includes any steps you might have missed. This may be a more direct option than guessing in the dark:
https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/install-linux-macbook-pro/

You might consider a Fresh Start while following the guide as well.

1 Like