Incorrect Terminal Command?- Microsoft Font article

Hi everyone!

I'm a Linux noob, so please be patient and kind with me.

In trying to install the Microsoft Fonts according to the Zorin OS install article I'm running into an error in the terminal.

I'm sure this is something simple, but wanted to 1) get some help, and 2) let someone know that the article should be updated.

Any ideas?

Hi and welcome,

The fact that sudo is missing is strange. In fact I just did a new fresh install of ZorinOS and my default user is able to run the sudo command normally.

Have you created any additional users, during the installation of ZorinOS or afterwards? You can check under Settings -> Users what other users exist on your system. If you are able to unlock this menu then you can create a new account with elevated privileges.

If there's no other user with admin privileges then your only option would be to logout from your current session and log in as the root or super user account, which would be able to install programs and amend this issue for future use. Either that, or re-install ZorinOS from scratch. As mentioned there's nothing special you need to do to have access to the sudo command.

EDIT:

Just in case, you can try to re-type your command but providing the full path to the sudo utility:

​/usr/bin/sudo apt update && /usr/bin/sudo apt install ttf-mscorefonts-installer

Command 'sudo not found'

I would highly recommend that you redownload the .iso from the official Zorin OS Website, reburn as bootable USB and reinstall Zorin OS (as this is a pretty fresh install).

Perhaps due to packet loss during the download or perhaps due to a file being written during installation that ended up corrupted; this demonstrates that a pretty big hole was left during installation. Nothing you did would cause that - most likely a network drop error did.
You may find suggestions to install sudo and they may work. But if that did not go right on install - what else didn't?