Install window doesn't show m2 ssd

Hello!

I am new to Zorin, I am trying to install in via a bootable USB. After I reach the installation type section, my m2 ssd is not seen.

I have 2 ssd's: Crucial P5 and Crucial P3, both visible in BIOS (hence compatible with the Gigabyte motherboard that I am running).

I can only see one of the SSD, not the one I am trying to install it on.

1. I've tried removing all other storage options that were connected to the motherboard, still nothing.
  2. I've rearranged the SSDs, since one port is for PCI4 and one for PCI5, but both SSD's have PCI4 connection (PCI5 ensures backwards compatibility so that is fine)
  3. Both SSD's are visible from in the BIOS.
  4. I have used Balena Etcher to flash the image on the target SSD before trying the USB, MAYBE that has had something to do with this, but I'm not sure

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for the help!

Are you dual-booting with Windows OS?

Is secure boot disabled in the BIOS / EFI settings?

In your BIOS / EFI settings, is your drive set to AHCI?

In your BIOS / EFI settings, is TPM disabled?

RR: dual boot, I have disconnected other SSD, only empty ones are connected.

RE: Secure boot, have just disabled secure boot and trying now

RE: SATA mode is set AHCI, but I have M2 SSDs connected (I think those are NVMe's, in which case I can tell you that I have NVMe RAID mode disabled)

RE: I am not 100% if I am looking at the right thing, but the Security Device Support option is enabled under Trusted Computing. Shoul I disable that too?

1 Like

Yes, that should be TPM.

I still can't see the SSD with secure boot disabled.

Same with Security Device Support disabled

Some users have had this issue with the newer kernel.

Would you be willing to test if Zorin OS 16 detects the m2 nvme?

Here are some screenshots. One of the ssd's can be seen, but the wrong one

sure I will give it a shot.

1 Like