Invalid partition table after 17 core install

I installed Zorin 17 core on a Dell Latitude E5430 with an i5 processor, 4 cores, 8 Gb RAM. Install worked but with 1 issue:

1. when I boot up I get a message "Invalid partition table!" and it will just sit there. If I hit Enter, the boot up proceeds without any problem.

I would like to resolve this so I don't have to wait on the machine to hit enter when it gets to that message. Please keep in mind I am new to Linux and Zorin so I need some handholding...

Thanks in advance.

Is it a Dual-Boot System or only Zorin? Is it possible that You can make a Screenshot from Your Partitions so that we can take a Look on it?

Only Zorin. It was originally Win 7 64 bit. Can you tell me how to make a screen shot of the partitions?

Have a look at solution (post #10, bottom of page 1) here: [SOLVED] Invalid partition table!

1 Like

Seems like Legacy boot support might be enabled in BIOS - from the linked thread via @zabadabadoo ..

What is the status of your Legacy boot support option in BIOS?

You can use the built-in Disc-Tool. It looks like this:
Bildschirmfoto vom 2024-04-12 18-52-59

For the Screenshot You can simply push the prnt-Button if Your Keyboard have one. If not go to the Quick Settings (the little Symbols in the Corner click on them) and there is on the top left a Camera Symbol. Click on it. Look here:

Also please be advised that in Zorin 17 the screenshots were moved from just the Pictures Folder to a folder with in the Pictures Folder named Screenshots ..... it took me forever to find this out .....

2 Likes

Ok I ran the tool and screenshot everything it had. Here are the results:

1 Like

You have GPT partitioning.

Which software you used to create the flash usb?

• if it was Rufus then have you selected GPT from its menu or not?

And as PlumpKibbles suggested, Go to your bios and check the status of Boot mode. If it's set to UEFI then the flash usb must be created by selecting the GPT.

1 Like