Lenovo ThinkPad x61 Dual Boot Installation Option Missing

Hello eveyone,

I'm a Linux newbie here. Never really did much in the past after dual booting other distros maybe 10-15 years ago. So, I plan to really start with Linux using ZorinOS 16 as Win11 won't officially work on any of my computers manufactured from 2008-2015.

I wanted to install ZorinOS 16 dual booting with Win10(21H1), but, the option to do so is not listed. My HDD is an original 150GB with ~6GB original Vista recovery, and the 2nd partion fully utilized for Win10. There's no other partitions or unallocated one.

I disabled FastBoot under Advanced Power Settings (Lids Actions) in Win10. My laptop is too old to have UEFI or SecureBoot, and only has TPM 1.2. I tried both Core and Pro iso from official Zorin's website as I gladly paid to help the Zorin cause.

My Dell XPS 13-9343 allowed me to dual boot install easily though.

What am I missing here on my Lenovo x61?

1 Like

This guide may be of some help for the Ubiquity Installer not seeing Windows:

Hello!

Thanks for your quick reply. The installer detects my Win10, but only gives me option to replace it. Only other option is advance partition adjustment.

Hopefully a simple chkdsk will fix it. I miss doing this like back in DOS days 30 years ago. LOL.

2 Likes

Possible causes:

• Windows was hibernated rather then shut down.
  • Windows was not properly shut down. (Perhaps there was a power failure, or it bluescreened last time it ran?)
  • The Windows partition is damaged, and should be fixed with chkdsk in Windows.
  • The Windows partition is too full to be shrunk.
  • The Windows partition cannot be shrunk because the files in it are too badly fragmented, preventing them from being constrained to exist only within the new boundaries.
  • The Windows partition cannot be shrunk because of immovable files near the boundary.