Most Customizable Desktop Enviroment?

Using Zorin OS as a Linux distro, what is the better DE to use regarding customization such as changing the login screen, font colour and much more?

Gnome, KDE Plasma or something else?

2 Likes

I use and prefer Cinnamon DE .... other folks like XFCE ..... all personal choices ....

2 Likes

Ok but is it better than either Gnome or KDE?

I personally think it is for me or else I would use one of the others .... I have Gnome and XFCE also installed but I have room on my system to do so ......

Which is the best .... depends .... what I did was to install the others .... leaving Gnome installed also for back-up ..... then I chose the one I liked better then the rest .... you can install more than one if your system can handle it ...... then just choose the one you prefer ....

You see what I've been trying to do for the last 3 months is to relocate from Windows OS to Linux.

I'm still new to Linux so that's why I chose Zorin as my first distro.

I really want to customize Zorin as much as possible!

@Z_123 , I moved from Windows to Zorin OS Core (Gnome) and I honestly felt as stifled on it as I did Windows.
When I switched to Zorin OS Lite, all of that lifted. I finally felt free and in control of my own system and had the ability to customize all I wanted to.
I also tried Cinnamon on Zorin OS and it runs strong and smoothly.

Both are very customizable. I would however, give the edge to XFCE as it is slightly more customizable with less resource usage.
From what you say, I suspect you will be as happy about the change as I was.

I would actually not recommend KDE (Plasma desktop). It can be very customizable, but only within the boundaries that it allows you.

3 Likes

There's always something that crashes in KDE for me when I get the urge trying it out. It's very custumizable but crash prone.

4 Likes

Do you mean XFCE?
Typo in 2 froggy posts above?

1 Like