My Zorin OS experience

So I have been using ZorinOS for almost 2 months now. It has been a so so experience. I wouldn't say ZorinOS does anything wrong but the project being developed by a small team clearly shows. In due respect to developers, this is a beautiful OS. Tho from my fresh install from windows to ubuntu after 4 years i had so much trouble just figuring out how to even get the software store even working. I also found the lack of any other password options. A pin option maybe in the future may be better or even a power saving mode you can configure to change settings when u unplug ur device. Setting up gamemode for apt application was quite difficult too. The lack of mismatching the taskbar configuration with other layouts was quite annoying too since we already have these amazing layouts so why not let us choose what we want from a certain layout and use it with other features. This was my thoughts using ZorinOS on a daily use. However it isnt all bad. I had way way better ram usage. My gaming experience went from 15-30 percent improvement in low end games i even went to 120 percent more fps which was just wow. Battery usage on my configured off charge settings went from 2 hrs to 9hrs just browsing on the net. My laptop has been the most stable it has ever been in the past 2 years of owning it. I would totally recommend ZorinOS in the future but right now i don't know. It is working to be an easy install and play but it definitely needs some more quarks that it needs to figure out before it can truly be an install and play OS. I hope that with time this OS grows to be one of the most polished distro that it aims to be and i certainly will love to watch it progress!
Again congrats to the developers, bravo to you for creating an OS that has finally for once has me excited for software after years of cycle of boredom. You my dear developers, i tip my hat for you.

7 Likes