Nvidia drivers non-functional for Geforce GTX 1660

I have been using zorin 15 for many years and with the update option now available I upgraded to zorin 16.3

For the first 2 days things were running fine, except for a weird bug where heroic launcher (flatpak) installed 3 separate nvidia drivers and launched games with a blank screen.

While fiddling with fixing that I noticed that my system was running on nvidia-525 drivers so I updated to nvidia-535. After reboot I got:

[ 8.032517] nvidia-gpu 0000:26:00.3: i2c timeout error e0000000
[ 8.032542] ucsi_ccg 3-0008: i2c_transfer failed -110
[ 8.032556] ucsi_ccg 3-0008: ucsi_ccg_init failed - -110

followed by a blank screen with a cursor flashing in the top left corner with no mouse and the second monitor was not receiving any signal.

so I blacklisted the i2c driver and received the same problem (without the error message). I then swapped back to nvidia-525 and same problem, without the error text first.

Deciding that a reinstall was in order I then performed a fresh install (with update during install and 3rd party software on install enabled) and ran into the same i2c timeout followed by a blank screen error.

So i blacklisted i2c on the new install too, no more i2c timeout error anymore however no change to the blank screen.

I then manually ran

ubuntu-drivers autoupdate

on the existing install (by doing a chroot using the live disk) and after that I had image and boot was successfully completing.

However it was booting using llvm drivers so I had "unknown monitor", reduced resolution, no second monitor, etc.

I tried manually installing the nvidia-535-open-server (recommended, tested) drivers as well as nvidia-525-open drivers;

I have tried

prime-select nvidia

and they all revert to llvm

I am currently running on nouveau to have decent resolution and both monitors but i would really like to get nvidia drivers running for wine applications.

ubuntu-drivers devices