Slow launch of web browsers and some apps

Hello, first post.

I've been using Zorin for 2 months now and have been very pleased with the layout, intuitiveness and feel of the distro.

One thing that has been present from the start is slow launch of web browsers and some apps such as steam. I will launch from desktop, and it will take 20-30 seconds to launch. This doesn't happen for all apps - for example GIMP, calc, writer all react as I would expect. Only web browsers and a few other internet reliant apps.

Is this something I can do anything about?

Cheers.

PS - I use Brave, firefox and Chromium.

1 Like

Is your computer using a mechanical hard drive? That alone can make things run quite slow on a computer. But 20-30 seconds sounds a bit excessive even for mechanical.

CTRL ALT T to enter terminal.

Please launch one of the browsers you use from a terminal window. Then copy and paste the code here for us to analyze. It might be that errors are being reported, and terminal will allow us to see them.

PS: if you are using mechanical, I strongly recommend upgrading to SSD.

2 Likes

Too many extensions, maybe?

Hi, thanks for the replies. The drive is a WD Blue HDD, so yeah, need to upgrade it. Funily enough when I launched it from terminal, it seemed far quicker to react than when i launch from desktop, although it didn't load quickly after the window opened.

Here is the terminal output:

:~$ brave
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"