Surface Pro Installation Issue

Installing Zorin for the first time and followed the instructions here to get the touchscreen working: Touchscreen not working on Surface Pro 6

But I'm running into an issue installing the repository and now every time I do sudo apt update I get this error:

E: Conflicting values set for option Signed-By regarding source Index of /debian release: /var/lib/extrepo/keys/surface-linux.asc !=
E: The list of sources could not be read.

I'm new to messing with this kind of stuff, is it obvious what I did wrong? Thank you!

Gday @jrodg , Welcome to the community!

This maybe due to an internet issue/unwanted files.
Please run

sudo apt upgrade

Read the output as it will indicate what needs removing/installing. Follow any further instructions from the terminal.
Then retry, Note not all errors matter.

You could refresh your modem/router/etc prior to the update/upgrade.
Hope this helps.
Keep us informed.

Added: A reboot before any of the above may also help.

Thanks for the quick reply Ocka! I got the same error when I ran that command. I would send a screenshot but apt get is not working for me at all now so I can't install a tool to take one...

E: Conflicting values set for option Signed-By regarding source https://pkg.surfacelinux.com/debian/ release: /var/lib/extrepo/keys/surface-linux.asc != 
E: The list of sources could not be read.

Edit: restarting did not help either. i can't reset my internet now but i'm skeptical that's the issue...

You need the internet to update/upgrade/install/etc.(Obviously :slight_smile: )
We may need to backup a little here ( start again)
First have you had the machine working prior with Zorin OS(re-install)? Yes i see you state fresh install.
Is this dual boot or Zorin only?
If this is the 1st install, what app did you use to create the bootable usb/cd,?
Those questions 1st ( step by step)