Updating NVIDIA Driver

I am a complete Linux newbie. This whole thing with drivers has me confused. I recently did a dual boot install on an iMac. I had a vague idea that drivers could be a challenge. But everything was running perfectly so I thought I must have lucked out against the drivers. That is until I attempted to change screen resolution. I got a black screen of death on Zorin Desktop. MacOS and my boot loader do not load anymore. Only Zorin loads after reboot. Zorin Desktop is still blackscreens after entering password. But I can get to Zorin on Wayland and it is working fine so far. But I think I need to get my drivers right or it may black screen on me too. After that I want to see if I can address the other issues.

Am I interpreting the Additional Drivers tab from Software Updates below in that any of those driver suggestions will work and that the top choice is recommended over the others?

**Additional Drivers from Software Updates Text:

1 Like

I would say that you are interpreting that correctly. The topmost are proprietary drivers by Nvidia. The one you are currently using is the open source Nouveau driver.
If I might suggest; after setting up the proprietary driver; try logging in on the normal Zorin Desktop (not Wayland) and see if things are working.

1 Like

Thank you. Yes, I am hoping the driver set up will help. Again, thank you for your help.

I applied the driver change. Good news / bad news. But I think it is a glass half full scenario.

Machine boots to Zorin which is black screen from get go. But now Reboot with option gets me to the Mac BIOS where I can choose to boot my Mac. Can’t boot automatically to Mac yet nor does the ReFind boot loader display.

Now that I can get back to MacOS, I think I will just start over by reinstalling the dual boot of Zorin and Refind.