Vgscan does not find volume group (LVM disk combining)

trying to combine drives here.
created my partitions and physical volumes but then cannot find volume group afterward.
I swear I installed Zorin with the LVM option checked!

when doing vgscan it just says ‘‘Reading volume groups from cache.’’–nothing else!

I also thought about creating my own volume group but I don’t know how to connect it to /home. when creating physical volume for it it says ‘‘Can’t open (that partition) exclusively. Mounted filesystem?’’

I’m new to this guys (just downloaded it today). show some love thanks!

What does pvscan yield?

It’s supposed to find a volume group apparently that comes with the installation. Then you add all the additional physical volumes to it and do some more stuff after… lol; I’m just following instructions (vgscan at 9:50) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=scMkYQxBtJ4

No, I meant what does running pvscan yield in your terminal?

fk I messed up I meant vgscan. it’s late.

LOL...
I know. You said that.
I... am asking you... to Run

pvscan

in your terminal and post back the results.

not sure why you need pvscan but:

root@therosehermit-desktop:/home/therosehermit# pvscan
PV /dev/sda1 lvm2 [<2.73 TiB]
PV /dev/sdb1 lvm2 [931.51 GiB]
Total: 2 [<3.64 TiB] / in use: 0 [0 ] / in no VG: 2 [<3.64 TiB]

damn fam you reply so fast give me room to breathe xD!

1 Like

Ok, that shows that LVM was enabled when you installed Zorin OS.

Do you have a file in the /etc directory for lvm? It should be

/etc/lvm/cache/.cache

uhhh where am I supposed to search that? if it’s in that search bar thing in documents (do you call that file explorer?) then I can’t find it.

cool LVM is enabled awesome!

You have many methods available... You can use the "locate" command in terminal OR
You can use your GUI File Manager. If you are using Zorin Core, that would be nautilus. You can copy and paste

/etc/lvm/cache