Walkthrough/Tips for troubleshooting - PlayOnLinux (POL) - running Windows applications easier than plain vanilla Wine

I see few POL questions on the forum but here is some information in the hope that it may still be of some use. POL is a powerful GUI application that does just about everything that plain vanilla Wine can do. I wrote "just about" because I haven't yet found anything yet that POL cannot do and I am not an expert on either POL or Wine. I prefer POL over Wine mostly because I find that I invariably use far fewer mouseclicks than keystrokes to implement the same solution. The following are from my own notes as I learned over time, so I have skipped parts I find self-explanatory.

1. Quick installation of a Windows application: Install -> Install a non-listed program -> Click next until asked for a drive -> Enter drive name -> Keep clicking next until you get the Browse button -> Browse to your installer file and click Next -> Close the installer window once it is done and POL asks you if you want to create shortcuts -> Once you're done, you can run your Windows application. The vast majority of Windows programs run with these simple steps, at times you may have to switch between choosing 32 bit or 64 bit virtual drive creation but usually 32 bit gets them going. You will know when you try to run the application and POL gives a crash message and tells you that you're trying to run a 64 bit application.

2. Debugging: If you get crashes, this is what you want to use. Select your application shortcut shown in POL's right pane and from left pane select Debug. This logs processes so you know what is happening when a crash happens. Usually you're looking for messages showing "err" - copy and websearch the text that follows "err". Some times you may not get any "err" messages and may just have to websearch the last few terms from the Debug window.