Zorin OS 16 question

Hi all,

Since 2 days i am new to linux. Today i wanted to install company of heroes 2 from steam on linux. I saw i have lost alot of GB's so i wonder where that did go. Can someone tell me what flatpak is and why it is so big and can those be deleted ????. The only thing i did install from the zorin os appstore is Wine, Winetricks, Lutris and Steam to try windows games on Linux (so far i am a noob to get this to work lol).

Yes, you can remove flatpak and everything in it.
Open a terminal with the keyboard shortcut ctrl+alt+t
Enter in

flatpak list

This will list out all flatpaks installed. While it may look like a lot of things you need, you would only need them if you were running a lot of flatpak applications.

flatpak uninstall --unused

sudo apt remove --autoremove flatpak

sudo apt purge flatpak

1 Like

Thanks for your answer, is it by default zorin use so much ?

Only if you use flat/snap. they eat alot of space...

Let me try to understand this since i am new to linux, this all comes from the app store ?. I installed this OS 2 days ago. So far i only installed some os updates and Wine, winetricks, steam and lutris from the appstore.

So by default the folder is that big ?

It's because each and every app you install comes with its own libraries in Flat, where linux/zorin by traditional way share it's libs among installed apps.

@storm, So far i only installed some os updates and Wine, winetricks, steam and lutris from the software/appstore. I did reinstall them a few times, but i don't think they make dupe lib folders. Still i don't think those 15,3GB are from those few apps i installed in 2 days.

Is there a way i can view the var folder as root user ?

Easily, you can view all of root safely within your file manager. If using Nautilus (The default Files) then click the "other locations" selection in the Left Sidepane.